Masculine Make Monday: ‘Nephew’ Card

Hi Crafty Folks,

I hope that you are doing well and that you have been enjoying some fun and crafty times?

Todays card was inspired by a popular, multi-platform computer game called Fortnite – you may know someone,( or be someone!), who is obsessed with this game. The recipient of todays card is one of said fans and it was for his Fourteenth Birthday.

So, here goes:

temp-75

This card has multi layers, each one inspired by an aspect from Fortnite.

The wood grain texture was achieved by using an embossing folder and adding a darker ink lightly with a blending brush or tool. This represents the building aspect from the game – you build structures to defend yourself or to create high vantage points to locate competitors:

temp-76

Next is the brick texture which was achieved in the same way plus some light sanding as I used Colour core cardstock.

temp-74

The topper elements – the crates and balloons – represent the aid drops that occur throughout the game.

I added a plaque shape with some die cut grass as a centre point and layered the topper elements on top. I added some die cut clouds and a sentiment panel to finish:

temp-74

As the game is set outdoors I choose natural colours and used colour pops for the balloons and crate elements.

Of course I decorated the cards interior:

temp-70

The Llama is an icon from the game. If you find one whilst gaming you get a great reward. I printed off a stock image and backed it with strong card. I then topped it onto a strong strip of card and created a removable bookmark 🙂

I thoroughly enjoy making themed cards as they especially speak to the recipient.

I hope that you have enjoyed popping by today. I’d love to hear from you so please comment away, nicely of course!

Take Care folks and Happy Crafting!!

MissRabbit250

About JenniferRabbit

I am an avid crafter and will try any artistic medium that I can :)
This entry was posted in Card Challenge, Card Making, Craft projects, Die cutting, General updates, Masculine Card Makes, Masculine Cards, paper crafting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Masculine Make Monday: ‘Nephew’ Card

Leave a comment